RIP John Hughes (2/18/50 – 8/6/09)

August 6, 2009

John Hughes

The master of 80’s comedies has passed away today from a heart attack.  He has made some great movies like The Breakfast Club, Planes Trains & Automobiles, and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off… plus some fun family films like Home Alone, Sixteen Candles, Pretty in Pink, Beethoven, and 101 Dalmatians.

Hughes simply changed the landscape of cinema in the 80’s with the number of his successful family and teen comedies.  He pushed the limits teenage frustration and angst, visited the theme of love and friendship, and expressed the importance of family throughout his career.

Aside from Home Alone, I really wouldn’t have known Hughes’ films that well if it wasn’t because of my screenwriting professor in college.  Because of my teen-comedy script, he recommended a number of John Hughes films for me to view to assist me in that type of genre.  So I watched a large amount of 80’s comedies and needless to say, I knew I had to restructure my screenplay.  The ideas and morals in his films were very thoughtful, although sometimes cheesy.

Even though Hughes has stepped away from the director chair since 1991, his passing will resonate around the world.  He will be missed.