How I Met Your Mother – “Sunrise”

Season Nine, Episode Seventeen

himym-sunrise

Grade: B

I hate to say this, but after last week’s incredible episode with the Mother, it took a little while for me to get back into the wedding weekend with the gang. And while last week’s episode was packed with great moments, “Sunrise” really only had one.

Here’s what happens. Ted and Robin go out around 5 a.m. to look for Barney, who has went missing. As they’re walking on the beach, they discuss Ted’s past love life as Robin counts down his best and worst ex-girlfriends. But the one thing that has been brewing for a long time now is finally released. Ted admits to Robin that he’s still hung up on her. It starts with him saying that there was never a Top 5 best exes list, there has only been one ex in his mind and it’s her.

We all know how romantic Ted can be and he has a knack for grand gestures that would win over plenty of women’s hearts. In “Sunrise” it’s shown what lengths Ted went to obtain the locket that Robin desired. What did he really hope to accomplish by being the one to give her the locket? Since day one, he’s always tried to win over Robin, and in many ways he has. But in his mind, he’s still second-best and that’s just crushing. It was for the best that crazy Jeanette threw the locket off the bridge. For that moment, Jeanette realized that she wasn’t the crazy one. But was Ted really crazy for following his heart?

“Actually, there is a word for that. It’s love. I’m in love with her, okay? If you’re looking for the word that means caring about someone beyond all rationality and wanting them to have everything they want no matter how much it destroys you, it’s love. And when you love someone you just, you…you don’t stop, ever. Even when people roll their eyes, and call you crazy. Even then. Especially then. You just– you don’t give up. Because if I could just give up…if I could just, you know, take the whole world’s advice and– and move on and find someone else, that wouldn’t be love. That would be… that would be some other disposable thing that is not worth fighting for. But I– that is not what this is.”

In the end, Ted is finally able to let go of Robin just like the balloon he had as a child. But can you ever truly let go of someone? How many times has Ted tried to let go of Robin in the past? But they do share a beautiful moment in the sand, watching the sunrise as two people who mean an awful lot to each other. For this story-line alone, this episode was worth watching.

But unfortunately there were other story-lines. The B-story consisted of the aftermath from Marshall and Lily’s fight, where Marshall converses with ghost Lily, ghost past-Lily, and even his ghost father. I get what they were trying for here, but it didn’t impact me the way it should’ve. But it’s probably the best way, creatively, for HIMYM to show how Marshall couldn’t sleep after the big fight. The conclusion is a bit anti-climactic, with Lily returning admitting that it makes more sense to stay in the City than travel to Italy. While it’s possible for Marshall to forgive Lily for leaving him selfishly, it’s something that he’ll never forget. But it seems like they’ll be able to work it out.

Meanwhile, Barney drunkenly bumps into two guys who he takes under his wing to teach them the ways with the ladies. It’s a silly story-line and contains little weight to any story arc, so I’ll just leave it at that (we did get to see Tim Gunn again though!).

So the saga of Ted and Robin is officially over, right? That being said, I guess we do have much to look forward to in the remaining handful of episodes. The wedding, for one, but more importantly how Ted will meet his future wife for the first time. I can already see the twinkle in their eyes.

One Response to How I Met Your Mother – “Sunrise”

  1. […] – How I Met Your Mother – “The Autumn of Break-Ups” (S08E05) – How I Met Your Mother – “Splitsville” (S08E06) – How I Met Your Mother – “The Stamp Tramp” (S08E07)| – How I Met Your Mother – “Twelve Horny Women” (S08E08) – How I Met Your Mother – “Lobster Crawl” (S08E09) – How I Met Your Mother – “The Final Page Part 1 & 2″ (S08E11&12) – How I Met Your Mother – “Band or DJ?” (S08E13) – How I Met Your Mother – “Ring Up!” (S08E14) – How I Met Your Mother – “Bad Crazy (S08E16) – How I Met Your Mother – “Weekend at Barney’s” (S08E18) – How I Met Your Mother – “Something New” (S08E24) – How I Met Your Mother – “The Poker Game” (S09E05) – How I Met Your Mother – “Knight Vision” (S09E06) – How I Met Your Mother – “No Questions Asked” (S09E07) – How I Met Your Mother – “The Lighthouse” (S09E08) – How I Met Your Mother – “Platonish” (S09E09) – How I Met Your Mother – “Unpause”  (S09E15) – How I Met Your Mother – “How Your Mother Met Me” (S09E16) – How I Met Your Mother – “Sunrise” (S09E17) […]

Leave a Reply

