Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – “F.Z.Z.T.”

Season One, Episode Six

agents-of-shield-fzzt

Grade: B-

Six episodes into the first season, I expected more from Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a very entertaining hour full of action, quick-dialogue and sometimes intriguing plot-lines. But the formulaic episodes are becoming tired-some and there are just so much more to desire from a secret agency that deals with super powers during the aftermath of The Avengers.

This week’s episode brings the movie back into play as the supernatural occurrences aren’t happening from someone with power, but it’s actually an alien virus from a helmet from the Battle of New York that’s killing a few firemen who were exposed to it. The main conflict is that Simmonds becomes exposed to it and now the clock is ticking before she becomes jolted with enough electricity that’ll leave her corpse floating in the air.

Say what you will about the Fitz and Simmons duo, but so far I’ve enjoyed them. What I don’t like is how S.H.I.E.L.D. is slowly presenting love interests every episode by poking at the possibilities here and there, trying to keep the mass audiences happy. That’s where the focus of the show loses steam. Instead of having episodes concentrate on these supernatural occurrences around the world and how S.H.I.E.L.D. deals with it, they throw in how Skye and Agent Ward would be the show’s most beautiful couple. This week, we see Fitz fumbling over his words talking to Skye, and then Simmons admitting it’s never been an accident that she’s been following Fitz in their past. Can we expect any of these character to get together soon? I wouldn’t be surprised, but I would greatly advise against it.

There is also a story-line between Coulson and Melinda May where they address how Coulson is different after he died in The Avengers. All we really get from that at the end is that he’s a different person from who he was before (oh, and how beautiful the afterlife is). Call it what you want, but I call it playing it safe. And remember when Skye opened up about her past and how she’s searching for her parents? There was nothing about that this episode. All of these loose threads are making for a very scattered series.

I did like the heart-felt climax of Simmons jumping off the plane to save the rest of the crew when Fitz realizes the anti-serum works. But did anyone really believe Simmons was going to die during the episode? Nope, no one thought that. So where does S.H.I.E.L.D. go from here? Are they going to link all of these story-lines somehow? There doesn’t seem to be a season-long arc except for maybe the centipede technology. Unless you consider all of the background story-lines of Coulson and Skye as long arcs, but let’s hope that’s not the case. What we need is something to feel that S.H.I.E.L.D. might not actually save the day at the end of the episode, but will that save it from its ratings drop?

One Response to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – “F.Z.Z.T.”

  1. […] – Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – “Pilot” (S01E01) – Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – “The Asset” (S01E03) – Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – “Eye Spy” (S01E04) – Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – “F.Z.Z.T.” (S01E06) […]

Leave a Reply

