Horror Movie Marathon

Happy Halloween everyone! What’s so great about this time of year aside from stuffing your face with chocolates and candies? The horror movies, of course! While I’m not the biggest fan of the horror genre, I have to admit that I love watching horror movies with a group of friends. That being said, we have carefully picked a handful of horror movies to watch. Here’s what we picked:

The Exorcist (1973)

When discussing what horror movies to watch, The Exorcist dominated the conversation. Not only is it a classic, but it is truly frightening even today (sorry, I’m more afraid of Shark Week on Discovery Channel than Jaws)! Seriously, how could you not be afraid of a possessed girl spitting out pea soup?! I hope we watch this film while it’s still daylight.

The Descent (2005)

The Exorcist was before my time, so I can’t really say that it’s my favorite horror movie. There’s no competing with those adults reliving tales of them screaming in the packed movie theaters, hanging onto their friends for dear life. So what horror movie defines my generation? Saw? While the first one was absolutely great and I thoroughly enjoyed the sequel, the fact that the success of the film created five sequels until it beat the dead horse is why I’m sick and tired of Saw. So what movie came to mind when picking my generation’s horror film?

The Descent. Here is a film full with surprise-scares and over-the-top gore. It also had a nice little back-story to go with the ruthless killings from the unknown creatures in the caves. And I didn’t even mention the claustrophobic scenes that (to me) are just as tense as the chase scenes. The film also has a great twist at the end (unless you watch the American theater version).

Poltergeist (1982)

I can’t say much about this film since I’ve never seen it. That’s what we decided on, to watch a horror film we’ve never seen before. It helps that I heard this movie was awesome, btw.

Zombieland (2009)

To ease the tension that we’re going to create from all of these horror movies, we chose to watch a fun-horror film. Of course, Shaun of the Dead came to mind first, but then we realized we’ve probably watched that more than any other horror movie we know. Zombieland was brought up, killing two birds with a stone since it has zombies in it.

Halloween (1978)

Then we had the choice of choosing Mike Meyers or Jason Voorhees. For the record, I’m now a fan of the Friday the 13th films. So this was an easy decision on my end. There’s nothing like a classic and campy, slasher pic.

Carrie (1976)

Not the entire movie. My friend told me how there are still some nights when he’s afraid to look in his rearview mirror at night while pulling away because of the scene towards the end when Carrie is drenched in blood. It was because of him that we added the last half-hour of this movie to the list.

The Ring (2002)

This is probably one of the most polarizing horror films that I know. People either love it or hate it. I personally love The Ring but unfortunately not everyone in the group does. But the compromise is that we would watch the opening scene of the movie that ends with the warped face in the closet. Thinking of that still gives me the chills!

Leave a Reply

