83rd Academy Awards Predictions

And the time has finally come. We are only six days away from the 83rd Academy Awards and what better time to post my predictions than right now? So here we go…

Best Picture: It really looked like The Social Network had it in the bag until the Guild awards all leaned towards The King’s Speech. In my opinion, it’s all but done for The King’s Speech to win the big award on February 27, but there’s still a part of me that is optimistic for a huge upset and for The Social Network to be announced as Best Picture. You now know where my heart is, but The King’s Speech will be the big winner of the night.

Best Leading Actor: This one is the surest bet of the entire night. Colin Firth, hands down, will win this award for his outstanding performance in The King’s Speech.

Best Leading Actress: This is a two-way race between Annette Bening and Natalie Portman. Portman has pretty much won it all: Golden Globe, SAG, BAFTA, and a number of critic’s awards. I don’t think there will be an upset this year so the pregnant Natalie Portman will walk away with the Oscar.

Best Supporting Actor: This is a very compelling award that will be an indication how the rest of the night turns out. If I’m not mistaken, this award is one of the first awards given out during the telecast. We have Christian Bale against Geoffrey Rush. Bale has been winning a majority of the precursors, but Rush isn’t too far behind. What a lot of people are predicting is a The King’s Speech sweep, which would involve Rush upsetting Bale for this category. I like to believe that won’t happen, so I’m sticking with Christian Bale taking this award.

Best Supporting Actress: Melissa Leo goes into the Oscars as the favorite, but there is a lot of momentum creeping in for Hailee Steinfeld to pull off the upset. Amy Adams and Leo might split The Fighter vote. Helena Bonham Carter and Leo are both veterans, therefore Steinfeld will secure the young up-and-comer vote. And to be fair, Steinfeld was the lead of True Grit, a movie very well received by The Academy with 10 nominations. I bet you this result is close, but I’m going for the upset with Hailee Steinfeld.

Best Director: Again, it seemed like David Fincher was on his way to winning this award, until The King’s Speech picked up a ridiculous amount of momentum and Tom Hooper won the DGA award. Looking at the stats, it is VERY unlikely for Fincher to win this award now since Hooper won the DGA and because The King’s Speech is heavily favorite to win Best Picture. But for some reason, most experts are still picking Fincher. I’ll take the safe bet and go with Tom Hooper.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin’s screenplay of The Social Network is phenomenal. I cannot imagine someone else winning this award.

Best Original Screenplay: The King’s Speech should have this one in the bag and will just be another award to its potential sweep.

Best Animated Feature: Although all three films are amazing animated features, Toy Story 3 will win.

Best Art Direction: This will go to The King’s Speech, although Alice in Wonderland is another favorable option here.

Best Cinematography: Can Roger Deakins please win this award?! Seriously, there’s no way The Academy can overlook him AGAIN. Maybe Danny Cohen of The King’s Speech will steal it, but I’m betting my marbles that Roger Deakins will win for his awesome work in True Grit.

Best Costume Design: I’m the last person you should ask about this award. For what it’s worth, I think Jenny Beavan from The King’s Speech will win, just because I’m putting my money on a The King’s Speech sweep.

Best Feature Documentary: This is always one of the toughest categories to predict. The frontrunners are usually the one that received the most publicity and the biggest gross. But since March of the Penguins and An Inconvenient Truth, this award has been going to other films than the popular one. Taxi to the Dark Side beat out Sicko. And The Cove beat out Food, Inc. This year, Inside Job is the frontrunner, but I wouldn’t be surprised if Restrepo or Exit Through the Gift Shop wins. Come on, we all want to see Banksy up on stage. But my prediction goes to Inside Job.

Best Short Subject Documentary: Will go to Strangers.

Best Film Editing: This award has to go to The Social Network. Though I still cannot believe Inception wasn’t nominated.

Best Foreign Language Film: I haven’t seen any of these films, so my guess is Incendies.

Best Makeup: The Wolfman.

Best Score: I’ll jump on The King’s Speech bandwagon, though I would love it if Inception or The Social Network wins here.

Best Original Song: “We Belong Together” from Toy Story 3.

Best Animated Short Film: How can Day and Night not win?! Pixar’s shorts always amaze me but this was my favorite Pixar short yet.

Best Live Action Short Film: I haven’t seen any of these so I’ll guess Wish 143.

Best Sound Editing: Inception has to win a few awards, right?

Best Sound Mixing: Inception.

Best Visual Effects: How can Inception not win this award? Seriously?

And there you have it. Of course, your guess is as good as mine. Let’s see how well my picks do on Sunday. I plan on watching the telecast with a bunch of friends and playing a drinking game to it, which includes guessing each winner. So if my picks are off, I will surely be drunk on Sunday night. Wish me luck!

4 Responses to 83rd Academy Awards Predictions

  1. […] 83rd Academy Awards Predictions В« The Entertainment Blur Feb 21, 2011 … We are only six days away from the 83rd Academy Awards and what better time to post my predictions … […]

  2. Alienware4free.com is a site comitted to offering end users a guide to getting the massively overpriced alienware products at a discounted price, and even free! Check us out!…

    […]83rd Academy Awards Predictions « The Entertainment Blur[…]…

  3. scommesse sportive…

    […]83rd Academy Awards Predictions « The Entertainment Blur[…]…

  4. grayson lakes katy texas real estate…

    […]83rd Academy Awards Predictions « The Entertainment Blur[…]…

Leave a Reply

