The 52nd Grammy Awards Tonight!

So tonight are the Grammy Awards.  I can’t say that I’m excited for these very selective music awards, but all-in-all it’s usually a pretty entertaining awards ceremony.  I guess the main reason I’m not too excited is that my taste in music greatly differs from the major nominees.  No, I don’t listen to Beyonce, Black Eyed Peas, Kings of Leon, or anything else that the radio stations air.

That being said… I’m going to make my predictions!

Record of the Year

  • “Halo” – Beyonce
  • “I Gotta Feeling” – The Black Eyed Peas
  • “Use Somebody” – Kings of Leon
  • “Poker Face” – Lady Gaga
  • “You Belong With Me” – Taylor Swift

Prediction:  Taylor Swift has had one tremendous year, and even though she won the top awards in the CMA’s, I just can’t see a “country” artist winning this award right now.  “I Gotta Feeling” was a huge hit, but I absolutely hate it so it better not win.  My pick goes to Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face.”

Album of the Year

  • I Am… Sasha Fierce – Beyonce
  • The E.N.D. – The Black Eyed Peas
  • The Fame – Lady Gaga
  • Big Whiskey and the Groogrux King – Dave Matthews Band
  • Fearless – Taylor Swift

Prediction:  And we have four of the five same artists nominated for Record of the Year.  Get used to this trend.  So once again, I haven’t listened to any of these albums.  Does that make me incredibly unreliable to make these predictions?  Yes it does.  And that being said, Beyonce’s I Am… Sasha Fierce will win Album of the Year.

Song of the Year

  • “Poker Face” – Lady Gaga
  • “Pretty Wings” – Maxwell
  • “Single Ladies” – Beyonce
  • “Use Somebody” – Kings of Leon
  • “You Belong With Me” – Taylor Swift

Prediction:  Yeah I know, this award goes to the songwriters not the artist, but I just wanted to put who performs the song to avoid the question “Who are those people?”  So I’m assuming that this award goes to the song with the best music and lyrics.  Hmm… I’ll take a shot and go with “Use Somebody” by Kings of Leon.

Best New Artist

  • Zac Brown Band
  • Keri Hilson
  • MGMT
  • Silversun Pickups
  • The Ting Tings

Prediction:  Surprise!  I actually listen to two of these artists!  I love the Zac Brown Band, but once again I don’t think country artists have much of an impact during the Grammy’s.  So that means I’m picking (and rooting for) MGMT to take this award.

Best Female Pop Vocal Performance

  • “Hometown Glory” – Adele
  • “Halo” – Beyonce
  • “Hot n Cold” – Katy Perry
  • “Sober” – Pink
  • “You Belong With Me” – Taylor Swift

Prediction:  I can’t imagine Taylor Swift being shut out of this awards ceremony, but at the same time I don’t think Taylor Swift is much of a vocalist.  Sure, it’s cool she writes/co-writes all of her songs.. but she cannot sing very well.  “Hot n Cold” was a big hit for Zooey Deschanel’s clone, but I don’t think it’ll win.  My feeling goes to Beyonce for “Halo.”

Best Male Pop Vocal Performance

  • “This Time” – John Legend
  • “Love You” – Maxwell
  • “Make It Mine” – Jason Mraz
  • “If You Don’t Know Me By Now” – Seal
  • “All About the Love Again” – Stevie Wonder

Prediction:  Hmm… Stevie Wonder is a legend, but I didn’t even know he had a new song out.  I’m taking a shot in the dark here and going with Maxwell for “Love You.”

And that’s all I feel like predicting.  So for everyone who watches the Grammy’s tonight, hope you enjoy it a lot more than I do.  Don’t be surprise if I lay a goose-egg with my predictions.

One Response to The 52nd Grammy Awards Tonight!

  1. dubai says:

    dubai…

    […]The 52nd Grammy Awards Tonight! « The Entertainment Blur[…]…

Leave a Reply

