DGA Nominations Announced

The Directors Guild of America have spoken!  Here are the five nominations for Best Director from the DGA:

Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker” (Summit Entertainment)

James Cameron, “Avatar” (20th Century Fox)

Lee Daniels, “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” (Lionsgate)

Jason Reitman, “Up in the Air” (Paramount)

Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds” (The Weinstein Co./Universal Pictures)

All the talk has been about Kathryn Bigelow’s chances in becoming the first woman in history to win Best Director at the Oscars.  Bigelow is the seventh woman to be nominated for the DGA award.  Just like the Oscars, no woman has ever won the DGA award.

Only two of the five nominees have been nominated for the DGA before:  James Cameron (who won in 1998 for Titanic) and Quentin Tarantino (Pulp Fiction).  Everyone else are first-time nominees.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: