LA Critics choose ‘The Hurt Locker’ as Best Picture

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association announced their awards.  The top honor for Best Picture went to the war/drama, The Hurt Locker.  Runner-up was the crowd and critic favorite Up in the Air.

If The Hurt Locker continues to flex their muscle during the precursors, then it’s almost a lock that it’ll receive a Best Picture nomination.  In my opinion, I feel it will receive a nomination but there is still a lot of time from now and the revealing of the nominations.

The rest of the winners are below:

Best Actor:  Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)
Runner-up:  Colin Firth (A Single Man)

Best Actress:  Yolande Moreau (Seraphine)
Runner-up:  Carey Mulligan (An Education)

New Generation Award:  Neill Blomkamp (District 9)

Best Supporting Actor:  Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)
Runner-up:  Peter Capeldi (In the Loop)

Best Supporting Actress:  Mo’Nique (Precious)
Runner-up:  Anna Kendrick (Up in the Air)

Best Director:  Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)
Runner-up:  Michael Haneke (The White Ribbon)

Best Screenplay:  Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner (Up in the Air)
Runner-up:  In the Loop

Best Cinematography:  Christian Berger (The White Ribbon)
Runner-up:  Barry Ackroyd (The Hurt Locker)

Best Foreign Language Film:  Summer Hours
Runner-up:  The White Ribbon

Best Animated Film:  Fantastic Mr. Fox
Runner-up:  Up

Best Score:  T-Bone Burnett and Stephen Bruton (Crazy Heart)
Runner-up:  Alexandrew Desplat (Fantastic Mr. Fox)

Best Production Design:  Philip Ivey (District 9)
Runner-up:  Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg (Avatar)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: