Review: G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra (2009)
118 minutes
Rated PG-13
Directed by Stephen Sommers
Starring: Tatum Channing, Sean Wayne

gijoeriseofcorbra2

Grade:  B-

What’ya say (G.I.) Joe?  Unfortunately, Joe can’t say anything because he’s a movie, and movies don’t talk. At least not literally. But if we are speaking figuratively, then G.I. Joe would tell you to come watch it because it is an action packed movie with some medium-sized names a pretty big budget.

G.I. Joe doesn’t waste any time in driving the plot forward. In the first 3 minutes of the movie we find out where the bad guy comes from and what his motivation for evil is. Then in the next ten minutes of the movie we see who our main good guys are (soon to be G.I. Joe’s Tatum and Wayne). The movie then proceeds to train our heroes and then it’s time for battle. The plot is basic, there is a little love story, a little bit of heroics, and a fairly cool bad guy.  It has all your basic elements to be another run of the mill action blockbuster.

There are a few differences between G.I. Joe and other blockbusters.  First, the dialogue isn’t corny.  Second, the acting is not half bad.  And third, the action is constant.  The movie was entertaining from beginning to end. There is even a twist that I didn’t see coming, which says a lot for a movie like this. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and while I wouldn’t tell you to rush out and see it, I would say that if you want to go to the movies but you’re not sure what to see, then check out G.I. Joe.

Leave a Reply

